Back to the Future…

sso2016-a-feat-back-to-the-future

sydneysymphony.com

I’ve been resisting the urge to comment about the result of the US Presidential elections but I have had many discussions with friends, colleagues and even interacting with other bloggers and feel that the only thing I will say is that I’m deeply disappointed by human nature as a whole. I had a heavy feeling in my chest the day of the elections and after the result was announced. It may feel as though equality that has been fought for by so many over the years has been cut down at the knees. In reality, I feel that it is all the more important to keep fighting for equality, justice, compassion, empathy and understanding for all. I am aware that this is only my opinion and may be contrary to yours or others but I feel we should be able to ‘agree to disagree’ and still be united when looking at the bigger picture.

When someone who displays their dislike for someone else who doesn’t like them or doesn’t agree with them but is still voted for a leadership position – I feel the message that portrays makes this decision difficult to process. I feel that it shows America was not ready to be led by a woman – it shows that when a strong woman shows her ambition, that it is still unacceptable. There is a misconception that women are supposed to be the nurturers, homemakers and have a softer nature, be more compliant. This may be true for some, but not all. How does this message align with how we are advising our daughters, sisters, mothers, wives, partners and friends that women can break the glass ceiling? How does the result of this election show that there has been any significant progress for women or any minority?

I feel it means that we need to remain unifed in fighting for women’s rights, minorities based on gender, race, religion or LGBTQI because many people do not realise what it is like until it affects them personally. I am a female of Asian descent and have felt the brush of discrimination many times, more than I’d care to remember. We don’t have a Delorean to go back into the past in order to change the future – what we CAN do is educate our children, the next generation in the values and behaviours we would like to see in our next leaders. I hope that is something we can be unified to accomplish. I feel that it is important what we choose to do next – what our actions portray post this election. What message/ example would we like to convey?

I’ll leave with a few articles I have read which highlight differing perspectives on the US presidential election. These articles are only a handful and there are many more you can peruse in your own leisure. I hope they provoke discussion, awareness and thought. The last article I feel shows the class of the current US President and perhaps a ray of hope for Trump? Continue to Laugh, Love, Live – Peace and blessings.

http://www.smh.com.au/lifestyle/news-and-views/opinion/why-trump-prevailed-despite-the-cloud-of-sexual-assault-accusations-over-him-20161110-gsm6lr.html

https://hbr.org/2014/08/why-women-dont-apply-for-jobs-unless-theyre-100-qualified

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/nov/09/donald-trump-president-jessica-valenti-daughter

http://www.msn.com/en-au/news/world/comment-hillary-clinton-lost-bernie-sanders-could-have-won/ar-AAk9faI?li=AAgfYrC&ocid=UP97DHP

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/nov/11/this-is-no-time-to-be-diplomatic-new-zealand-shouldnt-wish-donald-trump-well

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/nov/10/barack-obama-donald-trump-white-house-meeting-transition

 

4 comments

  1. Bill · November 30

    I think most Americans are ready for a female leader. I know I, for one, am. But I also think it is so important for the first female leader to be the right female leader. The first one is important because if the wrong woman gets elected, she will set us back in trying it again. I know it shouldn’t be that way but it is…I think Obama did a fair enough job in the White House that America will surely elect another African American to office. If we choose the wrong woman for office and she makes terrible decisions, she will set back the timeline for another woman to be elected eventually. And please don’t, for even a second, think that I think Trump was the right choice either! They were both terrible choices, but I’m glad, at least, we are still waiting for better female leadership to come along. Because there is better, much better out there, waiting for that shot at a meaningful and productive presidency.

    Like

    • tigre23 · December 1

      Thanks for your comment Bill, you have raised some valid points and I think the choices that US citizens had was one between the lesser of two evils. I am not sure that I agree with Trump being elected as he is not a role model I believe leaders should emulate. I am not sure what would constitute a ‘right’ female leader and am not sure if Clinton would have been the right one but I feel that choosing someone who does not seem to portray empathy, unity and equality may not be the right choice either. It is just my opinion and probably one of many and I respect your thoughts and opinions too. Let’s just hope this election doesn’t bode an ill fate as a result.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. tigre23 · November 15

    No, we shouldn’t discouraged but it is a something that we must continue to carry forward despite obstacles. It is about fighting for progress and making the future state a better place for all. I am instilling this also in my daughter and it’s about instilling this in the next generation so that it becomes the future state to progress from the current state.

    Like

  3. Plectrumm · November 15

    There are those doing their best to make the world a better place…in spite of the perception derived from a single event. I see this spirit in my 24 year old daughter, as she carves out her path across this tarnished landscape of our past. While not all change is progress…there is no progress without change! Those people engaged in carrying the movement forward for all, aren’t discouraged by the rants of the privileged.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

