Get Weird!

Get_weird_tour - littlemix.wikia.com

littlemix.wikia.com

We took our daughter to her first concert – it was a Christmas present that she has been eagerly anticipating. My daughter isn’t aware of the full sentiment of some of the songs but enjoys the music so I thought it would be a nice experience for her. The main message that I hope she takes out of this experience is that you can celebrate your differences and feel empowered to share and celebrate these differences. That sometimes you don’t have to conform and agree with mainstream thought or expectations. Little Mix’s main message is about ‘Girl power, just be yourself and believe in yourself’.The name of the tour ‘Get Weird’ is their reference to being yourself because everyone has a bit of weird in them and that it is a-OK! I asked my daughter why she liked the group and she said she liked their message is that you should be yourself and just have fun.

CS Lewis

I’ve always encouraged my daughter to be herself and hopefully this is something she will always look back as a positive experience. I may regret my decision but that’s how life is – it gives you the exam first and the lesson afterwards! This may not be something that applies to everyone or is to everyone – but as a parent, you make the decisions that are best for your family…each to their own, every family and situation is different.

life tough teacher

FirstCovers.com

I think the last time I went to a concert was quite a few years ago when my daughter was much younger. My husband and I had a rare night out together, we saw Lady Gaga in her ‘Born this way’ tour. Another artist whose message is to be yourself, whatever that may be. We had an amazing night – most artists are far better in a live performance and we felt that about Lady Gaga’s performance. She performed a rendition of her song ‘Hair’ that we felt was a much better version than the one on her album. That’s what I hope my daughter also experienced, the joy of a live performance. For us as parents, watching your children enjoy themselves gives you much more joy as a parent than any material possession ever will. My daughter said to me on the day of the concert “Mum, it feels surreal that I’m going to be seeing Little Mix in concert today’. She has been looking forward to it for the last 5 months! Ironically, Little Mix also has a song titled ‘Hair’ which they said at their concert is being released as their new single but it has different inferences!

I asked my daughter if she thought it would be a good idea that we buy their ‘Get Weird’ album so we could familiarise ourselves with their songs before the concert – she agreed! So, for the week before the concert, we played it every chance we could and learnt words to the all the songs! We enjoyed listening to it and looked forward to hearing them being performed live. My daughter’s favourite song on the album was sung at the concert to her delight. The audience participation was awesome, even before Little Mix got on the stage. The whole arena danced the Macarena, sang and danced to Dynamite, Single Ladies, Locked out of Heaven, Party Rock and Uptown Funk to name a few! My daughter was swept away by it all and had a wonderful time. It was so wonderful to watch my daughter enjoyed the experience. Once Little Mix got onto the stage, the arena were on their feet for most, if not all of the concert – my daughter included. There was such a positive vibe for all the young ladies who had come to celebrate their “weirdness” from the young to the old (the parents)!

My daughter said to me afterwards that she now understood how watching a concert is so much better than listening to the group on the radio or CD. She said the atmosphere was so much fun and how it was great that everyone sang along to all the songs! They also sang some songs from their previous two albums (which my daughter also has), so she knew them all…and so did the audience! My daughter had a great night and an experience that she said she will always remember as a positive one. Something that I’m grateful that she was happy to share with her parents (we don’t get out much : p). My daughter said to me the next day, “Thanks so much for taking me, it was so much fun!”, while giving me a big hug – that’s what makes these moments bonding with her so worthwhile! We were all tired across the next few days but the memories far outweigh the exhaustion! I’ll leave you with the words of the chorus for one of their songs called ‘Wings’ which has a great message (as do others – while some songs are just for fun!). Laugh, love, live! We certainly did that in various measures on the night! Empowerment, positive affirmation and fun – what a great message for all females (and males for that matter), don’t you think?

Mama told me not to waste my life,
She said spread your wings my little butterfly
Don’t let what they say keep you up at night
And they can’t detain you
‘Cause wings are made to fly
And we don’t let nobody bring us down
No matter what you say – it won’t hurt me
Don’t matter if I fall from the sky
These wings are made to fly

 

 

 

One comment

  1. meilanj21 · May 17, 2016

    It was such a fun concert! I can’t believe it happened, it seems so surreal!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

