Starstruck…

beauty_is_in_the_eye_of_the_beholder-25548327-300x160

americanlivewire.com

I have previously written about how we need to love ourselves more (my previous post is titled ‘Loving yourself...’) ie become more accepting of who we are and embrace it instead of comparing ourselves to society’s standards or other people. I think that there are many beautiful people around us everyday who may or may not love themselves enough. I’m not only talking about physical beauty but I feel once someone is beautiful on the inside, I tend to think they are also beautiful on the outside. I realise that the saying “Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder” is very true because ‘that which one person finds beautiful or admirable may not appeal to another.’

We all have our insecurities but we prefer them not to be pointed out by anyone. Of course, our nearest and dearest tend to do that all the time – much to our chagrin! When we think about it though, most times it is so we can see where we may need some improvement and we may not realise it ourselves. Usually because when they are pointed out by our nearest and dearest, it’s because they want the best for us and to be the best we can be (most of the time)! Sometimes though, what we may feel is a shortcoming – might be desired by someone else!

Adelequote

I have many friends who I feel are beautiful – they all have wonderful qualities about them ie they are generous, caring, empathetic, wonderful mothers and yes, have their insecurities which they deal with in their own ways. I often feel like a starstruck teenager when I am with them because I think they are all gorgeous. I remember telling one of my friends as such, who laughed it off. I’m not sure she believed me? That’s why I feel it goes back to loving ourselves more and accepting ourselves as we are. I read a post shared by a friend and it brought home some truths which I could relate to and I’m sure most women could relate as well. I’ve shared a link to the blog post here:

http://www.barefootfive.com/real-is-sexy/

Being more loving and accepting of ourselves is as important as radiating that love to others. Instead of trying to conform to what society’s/ family’s expectations are, I think we need to love ourselves and realise that we should be our own measure – realise that we ARE good enough. We become what we believe and having a support network to reinforce this belief helps to strengthen and help it become a reality.

As mothers, as women, as wives or partners, as sisters, as Aunties, as Grandmothers, friends and parents, I feel we should share with our girls and boys that they are beautiful – they they shouldn’t compare themselves to anyone or anything, or belittle themselves or anyone else. Share with them the importance of respect, manners, tolerance, kindness, being considerate, empathetic and practicing acceptance – remembering that everyone is important. Our children are our future – we should build up their self-esteem so society doesn’t have a chance to shatter their self-belief. We should be teaching them that what they think of themselves is most important and what other people think of them is none of their business anyway! Laugh, love, live! We should encourage our children to laugh more, to love themselves first and foremost, and to live their lives to the full! Our future is in the hands of our children, the most important thing is to teach them to love themselves unconditionally and then I feel they will be able to radiate that outwards as a more potent force. And what we can’t teach them, then we should teach them to learn.

 

3 comments

  1. holisticlifestylecoachblog · May 19, 2016

    So true, self-care, and self-acceptance is key to living a full life not just for yourself but benefits everyone around you

    Like

    • tigre23 · May 19, 2016

      Thanks for reading and your comments. I agree, it is something that we should all be taught from a young age but there seems to be so much contradictory information that the message seems to get lost.

      Liked by 1 person

      • holisticlifestylecoachblog · May 19, 2016

        So true.I wrote something about that after reading yet another article about body image. What matters is if we arehealthy, happy and have love in ourselvesand for others

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

