Biting the bullet….

 

For over twenty years I have been interested in studying Psychology, especially since I left school. Human behaviour has always interested me and I have read many books about the human brain, behaviours, emotions, etc amongst other things. I’m currently reading ‘The Emotional Life of your brain by Richard J Davidson.’ I really wanted to study Psychology when I finished high school but my T.E.R (Tertiary Entrance Rank) was just .60 too low. Instead, I completed a Bachelor of Commerce degree which I enjoyed and included studying organisational psychology which satiated my desire for the psychology component.

Over the years, when I have mentioned in discussions that I didn’t obtain a high enough T.E.R to study Psychology, people have said to me that I could have transferred to a Psychology degree once I started university study, but I was enjoying my Commerce degree so saw no need to. Since completing tertiary study, I have also completed other professional development courses and accreditation for my career in adult learning so I never felt compelled to take up Psychology studies. I find that in the last few years though, I have been reading a lot of material relating to human behaviour, psychology and the brain. I have worked on a project involved in developing an eLearning module for mental health. I have discovered that one of the mother’s at my daughter’s school is completing the final year of her Psychology degree. Recently,  I also mentioned to a work colleague about my desire to undertake further study in Psychology and she said she was looking into it as well.

I feel these are all synchronicities in relation to my desire for studying Psychology. As a result, I have seen a billboard about a college for Applied Psychology and then the same college advertised on the back of a bus which I finally took action on. I bit the bullet and sent an enquiry to the college and, as a result lodged an application and have been offered a place to complete a Graduate Diploma (insert quiet panic here). I have also forwarded the college details to my work colleague to explore. I’m not sure how I will manage juggling work, domestics, study and family time but since it is something I have been putting off for so long, I thought there’s no time like the present! Life’s too short and we think we have plenty of time but when in reality, we don’t. I think it is better to regret doing something I’ve done than to regret never having the courage to do it! This is confirmed by a meme I read recently:

Remember-you-will-always-regret-what-you-did-not-do-rather-than-what-you-did.

There are many things that are inspiring me to do  what I have always been meaning to do/ thought or talked about for so long (synchronicities again) – these include but are not limited to:

  • a dear friend of mine taking time off to travel and live in Europe for 6 months to a year
  • death of a loved one
  • death of music legends at a young age that I grew up with (David Bowie, Prince)
  • the want to enjoy living my life
  • realising life’s too short to continue to put things off
  • realising life is not just about working and paying bills
  • working on a project that was emotionally taxing and realising that I never want to work on a project like that again
  • observing someone you love not ‘living’ their life to the full

What inspires you? What are your passions? I hope you take action to pursue your dreams and passions – I feel that is what living is about. It’s important to take time out to do all the little things as well as the big things you want to accomplish in life. There is no comparison or competition – I feel the only person you should strive to be better than is the person you were yesterday. I feel that I am in charge of my happiness, not anyone else and if I don’t take responsibility then I can’t expect anyone else to do it for me. So, if you are reading this – go out and do whatever makes you happy, change your mindset, be grateful for what you have. Realise that there are many people in this world who would be happy with just a quarter of what you have, so embrace it!

One of my friends and I had a conversation a couple of years ago where he said that he had no room for “People who complain but don’t try to do anything to change their situation for the better.” I realise that it is a good way to live your life, it helps you to stop letting other people’s issues become yours or affect your well being. One of my favourite quotes that relates to the same concept is by Einstein “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results”. I feel that it’s message is that if you want things to change, you need to change your mindset, your behaviour, your words – you need to take action to initiate change. By doing the same thing(s) and complaining about it won’t change anything. The responsibility is on the individual affected to change things. If it is you then you need to take action – if it is someone else then it is their responsibility, not yours. It is a lesson I’m still learning, especially when it involves family – I’m learning to slowly let go. I realise I can’t keep trying when they don’t care enough to try themselves. I’ve shared a few inspirational quotes below that resonate with me and hope they do the same for you. Laugh, love, live!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

