New Year….new mistakes…

It’s been a tough year – personally and professionally. Family have been affected by cancer, illness and I’ve been coming to terms with the death of a loved one. Work has also been tough with demanding clients, some not knowledgeable of the most effective learning strategies and how to best implement them. Long hours, toxic work environments and people which made going into the office a challenging task. It has taught me that no matter how much money you may be receiving for work you are undertaking, it does not make up for the time you lose that you are unable to spend with your family.

Overall, this year I have made mistakes and continue to so but am continually learning and hopefully avoid making the same mistakes. In the last few months when travelling on the roads, I have been aware of seeing many yellow cars – a car colour that is usually not very common, yet sometimes I have seen up to ten in about as many minutes!

As a result, I thought I would do a little bit of research about the colour yellow and although am aware of it representing happiness, joy and optimism – I was not aware that it also signifies learning. Apparently, this colour relates to acquired knowledge. It is the colour which resonates with the left or logic side of the brain stimulating our mental faculties and creating mental agility and perception.

In regards to learning and making mistakes, I thought I’d share one of my favourite quotes by Neil Gaiman, who is an English author of short fiction, novels, comic books, graphic novels, audio theatre and films. You may be aware of his novella; Coraline which has been made into a children’s cartoon and he also wrote the screen play for Beowulf. He is also known for the landmark Sandman comics.

This quote is one of my favourites as I have a few favourites and I think it is appropriate to start off the New Year:

mistakes - learning

Thank you to all for your ‘likes’ and kind comments as it has encouraged me to continue blogging as it is a new venture for me. I am quietly optimistic about 2016 and I wish everyone a very Happy New Year and hope that the new year is filled with love, peace, many blessings, tolerance and understanding.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

