Year of firsts…

I had a conversation with a friend while we were going on a walk one morning and it was the first time I had ever walked in this local park, even though I have lived in the area for 20 years now. I realise that it was also the first time I’d gone for a walk with that particular friend.

During our conversation, I let her know that I had never walked around this particular park – I have walked through it from one end to another and around it but never in it and around the whole park before that day. It was a nice morning for a walk and was a pleasant walk. My friend and I realised that it must be a year of firsts…

yearoffirsts

My friend was recovering from a foot infection and DVT (Deep Vein Thrombosis) which has never happened to her before. I could not possibly figure out how she had gotten DVT and either could she! She did find out later from her Uncle who was visiting from overseas that her grandmother had DVT, so there’s a chance that it could be hereditary. My friend also has developed sciatica in her hip so suffice to say we haven’t been able to go on another walk together since. She is still recovering but is on the mend now which is a relief since she will be going on her first holiday cruise with her family and I think she really needs this holiday! She’s such a beautiful person so she deserves to enjoy!

Back to the conversation on this year being a year of firsts, I realised it had been a year of firsts for me in other ways; it was the first time my little family was able to go overseas together and also visit my cousin and her little family. This year was the first time I was deeply impacted by the death of a loved one – I have experienced loss before but somehow this time I am feeling it more. It’s also the first time I have been able to enjoy a bit of a break and do some things I have been meaning to do for a while – like blogging, relearning French, swim laps at the local swimming pool – am now able to complete 20 laps!  Exercise more regularly, enjoy time with my daughter and be more organised for Christmas, birthdays and summer holidays. It’s also the first time I was ready for marriage much to the delight of my husband who has patiently waited all these years!

There are many other firsts that I’m learning about myself, and yet to learn but find that is what makes it exciting. I find that learning something new about anything (friends, hobbies, work, family, yourself, etc) and being able to share the knowledge or fun is what makes learning more exciting.

These things may not be big accomplishments but they are firsts and as the saying goes “There’s a first time for everything“. The first time you are able to do something you have wanted to do for a long time and the satisfaction that goes with it confirms your desire, results in elation. It’s a nice feeling to be able to chase your dreams, no matter how small, I feel always makes your days more pleasant. Why not make it a years of firsts – if it brings you and others joy then I say, just go for it. There is no right time to start anything new, just the present. Have you been wanting to do something but have always found excuses why you couldn’t?

when-i-lost-all-of-my-excuses-i-found-all-of-my-results-984884

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Danielle · December 4, 2015

    Beautiful! Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

